Pain in the Neck

I haven’t been able to blog in a few weeks due to a literal pain in my neck. Apparently a few of the vertebrae in my neck are fused together with bone. No biggie, right? This disc problem has reared its ugly head a few times in the past 5 years or so. A couple years ago I suffered through severe neck pain coupled with numb fingers. Try typing with numb fingers. It ain’t easy. This time though, I’m fortunate. I have full feeling in my extremities. However, this pain in my neck that radiates through to my shoulders is starting to be a real bother.

At the urging of several friends, I have finally given in and started seeing a chiropractor. This was not an easy thing for me to do. I was terrified of going to the chiropractor. In my head, all I could see was the image of a guy sneaking up behind someone, reaching around his neck in an almost loving-looking embrace, then snap, crack, thud. Broken neck.  

That is what I thought it would be like at the chiropractor.

Turns out, that it wasn’t. It was close, but I’m still breathing and my neck is firmly intact.

The chiropractor has told me that I need to visit 3 times per week for the month of June. She thinks she can get me some relief from the pain. I’ve been a few times and I can already feel the difference. I feel hopeful that I am on the mend. Not only that, but I am certain I will come away from this with some exercises and tips to prevent this from getting this bad again in the future.

As I was going to sleep last night (on my new chiropractic pillow!) I couldn’t help but draw a comparison between the chiropractor and the revision.

Saturday I met with my critique group. I came away with that meeting with many insights and helpful suggestions. I discovered I was using a couple words that they weren’t quite sure of the meaning. I also had rewritten a scene from a different angle that caused some questions for them. As we talked through it, I realized my original angle was the best choice for the scene and will make it more powerful. (Perhaps this is a lesson on following your instincts?)

The thought of revising (again) does not strike my heart with joy and gladness. In fact, most of the time I’d call revision a real “pain in the neck.” But right now I’m anxious to get back into and apply their suggestions and start to rework things. What they told me is spot on. It will improve my story.

Kind of like the chiropractor — I need a few adjustments on my neck; my story needs a few adjustments to make it the best it can be too.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll take my laptop and adjust my neck and my story at the same time. 

Leave a Reply

