Book Tree

My family and I spent last Christmas at Hogwarts.

Well, the Universal Studios equivalent of Hogwarts.

It was one of the best vacations we’ve ever taken. And I can still say that even though I experienced a 24-hour stomach flu during the trip.  (Or maybe it was just the aftermath of the Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey ride-hard to say.)

There was a special kind of magic that came with celebrating Christmas in a different way and in a different location.  Sometimes, I think, when we get into routines and experience the same things over and over, we become numb to them.  I have to admit that the thought of pulling out the same tree we’ve had for 20 years, sneezing through two years worth of accumulated dust, forcing my kids to help me decorate and BE JOYFUL ABOUT IT, didn’t have much appeal.  So this year when it came time to decorate for Christmas I decided to mix it up a little.

I told the hubs my idea. I guess he liked it. Because last Saturday I awoke to find seven tiny (live) Christmas trees on my kitchen table. One for each member of our family, including our cats. (One great thing about the hubs, he’s a cat person.)

This weekend we decorated a tree for each of us.  It was fun coming up with the themes for the trees.  My daughter made hers a Supernatural tree. (Yes, Sam & Dean Supernatural, complete with Castiel as the topper.) My son made his a replica of the German flag with black, red, and gold beads and his favorite soccer player on top.

We even had fun with the cats’ trees.  Our cat Cookie’s tree is decorated with cookie cutters and cookies.  Coconut’s tree is totally white like he is. And Oreo’s tree is adorned with socks because she loves to steal and hide our socks.

My favorite tree, though is mine.

Because I made a book tree.

I used the kind of tags that open (like a book, duh.). I glued pictures of my favorite books on the front of the tag and wrote my favorite quotes on the inside.  It’s really cute.

Image

I even included my “one day” book on my tree too.

Now our fireplace area is decorated with all the things we love and it’s making the Christmas season magical!

I hope yours is too. And if you’re trying to figure out what gift to give someone-you can never go wrong with a book!

One thought on “Book Tree

  1. Patsy Brannan says:

    You are such a good writer – I love reading everything you write. I am so anxious to read your book! Hint, hint. I LOVE YOUR TREE IDEA! Now I want to do something different. Accepting ideas.

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

