Retreat

This blog will be short today. I’m wrapping up my current WIP in order to prepare for the Arkansas SCBWI Retreat this weekend. So consider this Diet Blog. Or if you prefer, Blog Light-same great taste, now with fewer calories.
I’m excited for the retreat this weekend. I can’t wait to meet other YA/MG writers in my area. I have the most supportive family and friends there are, but sometimes the things my brain comes up with are incomprehensible to them. Quite frequently, I find myself thinking, “another writer would understand this.” I hope to meet some this weekend who will.
I also look forward to hearing what a professional editor has to say about my story concept/synopsis/first pages. I’m nervous about it, but looking forward to it anyway. I find myself imagining how that meeting will go. Sometimes I picture her praising me for my brilliance, demanding to read my full MS, and calling every agent she knows to tell them to represent me immediately. I also picture her patting me on the arm, offering to drive me home, and telling me not to quit my day job. Ever.

The actuality of the situation will lie somewhere in the middle of those. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Meanwhile, I’ve got one hand on my laptop revising and the other one stuffing my comfy clothes in a suitcase. Retreat, here I come!

Leave a Reply

