Potent Quotables

For writers, there is absolutely nothing as thrilling as writing a scene, or line, or even a word that you just know is right.  In those moments when the stars align, we bask in the glory of accomplishment and satisfaction.  And it is good.

But then there are other moments when we know things aren’t clicking and the writing process stalls, and stutters, and we want to hurl our computers across the room. (Or is that just me?) Because let’s just face it, writing is hard, y’all.

Oftentimes when I hit a frustrating patch, I turn to the source of my writing passion – words.

I like to use my favorite books as inspiration.  I’ve found myself re-reading books a lot more since I made the decision to actively work toward publication.  I’m not reading them to steal ideas or mimic writing styles because I want my works to be all me.  I refer back to them because I enjoy reliving those moments when I was enraptured by the stories.  I’ve found that every time I’m stalled or frustrated, reading unlocks something in my brain and the words come easier and I’m far more productive.

One of my favorite quotes is from Stephen King.  He says, “Books are uniquely portable magic.”

They are.  They take me away and they lead me back again.

Just for fun, here are some of my favorite go-to quotes of the moment (from some of my favorite books!)

Like and equal are not the same thing at all.  –Madeleine L’Engle,  A Wrinkle in Time

Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear and how to be free from it.   –Veronica Roth, Divergent,

I spent my life folded between the pages of books.  –Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me

Fall off your own roof. — Veronica Rossi, Under the Never Sky

The lie took form as she spoke, pulling on as many strands of truth as it could reach. –Scott Westerfeld, Uglies

And because I’m me, here’s one more Divergent for the road:

Then I realize what it is. It’s him. Something about him makes me feel like I’m about to fall. Or turn to liquid. Or burst into flames. –Veronica Roth, Divergent

What are your favorite book quotes?

Leave a Reply

